Use your Stevens Memorial Library Card and PIN to log into the databases.
Each year the Association for the Study of African American Life and History (ASALH) provides a Black History Month theme to focus the attention of the public on a particular aspect of Black History. The theme for Black History Month in 2023 is Black Resistance.
Black Freedom Struggle in the U.S. is a Proquest website which provides access to primary sources relating to historical figures and major events in Black History.
Fold3 provides convenient access to military records, including the stories, photos, and personal documents of the individuals who served.
Biography in Context provides contextual information on the world's most influential people. Search for people based on name, occupation, nationality, ethnicity, birth/death dates and places, or gender.
This database builds a deeper understanding of how historical events have shaped the United States by exploring the issues as the key players saw them.
Established in 2010, the National Center for Race Amity (NCRA) is a Boston based organization dedicated to overcoming racial prejudices through amity and collaboration. The NCRA website provides access to and information about race amity, how to promote race amity, and resources for creating race amity organizations and events.
This Library of Congress website provides general information about the origins and history of Black History Month in addition to online exhibits, resources for teachers, and links to Black History Month webpages on other government sites.
The National Archives and Records Administration (NARA) has a large amount of material documenting the experience of African Americans. NARA features many of these records online along with other resources.
