LibGuides: Teacher Resources: E-Resources

E-Resources

The library's e-resources consist of a wide variety of content including databases, online news, genealogy research, and more. A Teacher Library Card gives North Andover teachers 24/7 access to the library, making finding resources for lessons simple and accessible!

History/Biography

Need reliable information for a history or biography assignment? Try one of the databases below accessible through the library:

Biography (Gale in Context) This link opens in a new window
Biography in Context provides contextual information on the world's most influential people. Search for people based on name, occupation, nationality, ethnicity, birth/death dates and places, or gender.
Britannica Online School Edition This link opens in a new window
Encyclopedia and Research resources for elementary, middle and high school level.
Issues and Controversies This link opens in a new window
Explores more than 800 hot topics in business, politics, government, education, and popular culture. Updated weekly, with links to a 12-year backfile.
Issues and Controversies in History This link opens in a new window
This database builds a deeper understanding of how historical events have shaped the United States by exploring the issues as the key players saw them.
U.S. History (Gale In Context) This link opens in a new window
A database for those seeking contextual information on hundreds of the most significant people, events and topics in U.S. History.
World Book Web This link opens in a new window
- This link opens in a new window
The World Book website offers an encyclopedia, dictionary, atlas, homework help, study aids, curriculum guides, and more.
World History (Gale In Context) This link opens in a new window
A database for those seeking contextual information on hundreds of the most significant people, events, and topics in World History.

Current Events/News

Need reliable information for current events/news assignment? Try one of the databases below accessible through the library:

America's News This link opens in a new window
Searchable database of full-text newspapers, media transcripts, web sources, and more, sorted by state.
America's News Magazines This link opens in a new window
- This link opens in a new window
Searchable database of select news magazines.
Boston Globe This link opens in a new window
Full text of the Boston Globe, 1980-present.
Boston Metropolitan Collection This link opens in a new window
Full text and selected coverage from over 100 local eastern Massachusetts newspapers.
Eagle Tribune This link opens in a new window
Full-text coverage of the Eagle Tribune from June 11, 2008 to the present.
Global Issues (Gale in Context) This link opens in a new window
Global Issues in Context offers international viewpoints on a broad spectrum of global issues, topics, and current events.
New York Times Article Archive This link opens in a new window
Search the full text of The new York Times (starting in 1985).
North Andover Citizen This link opens in a new window
Full-text of the North Andover Citizen from July 29, 2005 to 2019.
World News Digest This link opens in a new window
World News Digest bring together Facts On File World News Digest in print. This record covers all major political, social, and economic events since November 1940.
Newspapers.com-- World Collection This link opens in a new window
A searchable collection of newspapers from all over the world.
US Newsstream This link opens in a new window
US Newsstream enables users to search current and extensive backfiles of U.S. news content and features top newspapers, wires, broadcast transcripts, blogs, and news sites in full-text format.

Science/Medical

Need reliable information for a science or medical research assignment? Try one of the databases below accessible through the library:

Environmental Studies and Policy (Gale OneFile) This link opens in a new window
A collection of over 800 journals provide robust coverage of environmental issues and policies, including diverse perspectives from the scientific community, governmental policy makers, as well as corporate interests.
Environmental Studies (Gale in Context) This link opens in a new window
This guide provides users with comprehensive information about important topics that affect people around the world. Explore topics and events within Earth systems, global change, pollution, populations, and more.
Science (Gale Interactive) This link opens in a new window
Gale Interactive Science is a resource that allows users to understand and learn about different science courses. It is fully interactive and users can explore using virtual 3D models.
GreenFile This link opens in a new window
- This link opens in a new window
A collection of titles related to environmental effects. Topics covered include global climate change, green building, pollution, sustainable agriculture, renewable energy, recycling, and more.
Health and Wellness (Gale) This link opens in a new window
Provides instant access to carefully compiled and trusted medical reference materials. Material contained in this Resource Center is intended for informational purposes only.
Science (Gale In Context) This link opens in a new window
Science in Context merges authoritative reference content with full-text magazines, academic journals, news articles, experiments, images, videos, audio files, and links to vetted websites.
Today's Science This link opens in a new window
Today's Science bridges the gap between the science learned in the classroom and real-world discoveries. Updated weekly, with a 16-year backfile.

ELA

Looking to access free e-books and audiobooks through the library? Try Libby! Libby gives you access to thousands of e-books and audiobooks through MVLC.